Basically Stranger Things With The Diabolically Scary Pennywise

I remember watching this when I was a kid and how scared shitless I was after. I couldn’t go the bathroom alone, I couldn’t take my showers alone; I basically feared water as it go down the sink. Clowns are freaky but never scared me. Now, I think if I see clown staring at me so help I’d punch him in the face. 

It’s not a good horror movie per se; it’s a good movie in the general sense. The scoring is haunting, the acting is solid, the humor is spot in, and Pennywise is downright terrifying it gives me chills.  

I got reminded so much of Stranger Things, given that one of the actors is from Stranger Things but also the general vibe. It’s retro, we have missing kids, we have a gang of misfits teaming up to fight evil. It’s basically Avengers but so much better. 

This film is actually scary, hilarious, and grounding all at the same time. It’s full of heart and doesn’t resort to cheap scares and tricks, it’s creepy all in a good way. 

One thing that impressed me a lot is the cinematography. It’s very beautiful, it’s so playful and gorgeous. It captures emotions, whether scared or happy or in love, it’s eyegasmic, I love it. 


IT does pay homage to the classic movie paving the way for the new generation to discover the horrors of the equally classic, forever scary Pennywise the Dancing Clown and the 2017 remake is a marvelous showcase of fright. 

Grade: 4.5/ 5 Stars

Leave a comment